Luftwaffe F-4Fs DACT at Decimomannu, Sardinia

Some interesting footage of Luftwaffe DACT training at Decimomannu Air Base on the Italian island of Sardinia in 1976.

Some things of note in my mind. What was the designation/name of the dart shaped towed target on the wing of one of the jets on the flightline? Damn, those J79s are some pretty bad smokers 🙂 Looks like the beginning of the end of the camo’d Rhinos in the Luftwaffe. There are a few of the TPS schemed Rhinos in parts 1 and 2.

The narration is in German so I have no idea what they’re saying. I think it get the gist though.

Part1:

Part 2:

Hopefully the Phantom people out there will like this 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Airplanes, Flying, History, Plane Pr0n

2 responses to “Luftwaffe F-4Fs DACT at Decimomannu, Sardinia

  1. Back in the 90’s I was at the USSF Tanker base at USAF Kirtland, ABQ NM. had a contingent of Luftwaffe F-4s going in and out once a few of the crews
    came over and looked over our DC-7 with remarks like hey, “Uncle Fritz
    flew these for Lufhansa! ” and the what was funny was there wasn’t 10 year between the DC7 and the F-4’s they were driving…
    Our plane was built for United in late ’58….
    Told them I loved the ‘Ol Rino too last one I saw in flight was also in the
    late ’90’s when I and Wife were out in our Garden and I heard that distinctive sound of Boundary Layer Control. looked up, and a Navy F-4 slowly circled Port Orford , Oregon lit the Burners and went South and up and away. I have no idea who or why….

  2. Pingback: Hitler’s Eagles: The Luftwaffe 1933–45 - Osprey 9781780962832

Leave a comment