Bad news

By lex, on April 1st, 2007

I’m sorry to have to share this with you, but it looks like we may have to amend the terms of our relationship: I guess I finally crossed the line. Something I wrote earlier in the week offended some Very Important People who made official representation of their objections through political channels and finally down through my chain of command. I got the call yesterday – it’s never good news to get called by your boss on a Saturday. Had to happen eventually I suppose, but I kind of hoped my tattered veil of anonymity could outlast my active service.

Now, many of you know that I have been blogging under a pseudonym in order to protect those I work for from having to officially recognize the source of these my musings, thereby lending them even the patina of official endorsement from the USG, DoD or DoN. The problem – as I very well knew from the beginning – is that there really isn’t any such thing as anonymity on the net. The world is full of people looking for a reason to take offense, and if you hang out on the web long enough, eventually you’ll make somebody angry, a complaint will get lodged and, well: Here we are.

The long and the short of it is that I’ve been asked – if that’s the right term – to cease and desist. I asked if I could just pull down the offending post(s), but was succinctly told, “No.” It’s not clear to me what’s going to happen with The Flight Deck, since most of the posters over there aren’t subject either to military discipline or control. They did give me 24 hours to basically say good bye to all of you, for which I am grateful.

Now, even apart from the fact that this space will soon be empty, you should know that I don’t bear anyone within the Navy ill will over this – it’s hard enough in the current environment to stay “on message” with all of the different political stakeholders out there without having a rogue officer out there spouting off whatever comes to mind. As for me, I shouldn’t worry too much – I’m pretty sure I won’t get in any more trouble than I’m already in, and after all – what can they do to me: Cut my hair and send me to sea?

Anyway, it’s been a great ride and I’m sorry it has to end this way. Most of you already have my home email address, so if you want to continue the conversation about this outside the public field of view, drop me a note there. For those who want the back story but who do not yet have my email address, more information is provided after the jump.

Update: Actually, pretty much everybody should take the jump.

BadNews1

 

Back To The Index 

Leave a comment

Filed under Best of Neptunus Lex, Carroll "Lex" LeFon, Carroll LeFon, Humor, Lex, Lexicans, Neptunus Lex

Leave a Reply

