My Ideal Road Trip Part 5

Part 1 is here

Part 2 is here

Part 3 is here

Part 4 is here

 

Highway 24 really took me through some spectacular scenery.

087

089091092094

I was coming to some petroglyphs. These were made by ancient Native Americans around 600AD. Many of them on the following wall were destroyed by a rock fall in 1952 but you can still see some…

095

 

 

098101

Highway 24 had some pretty spectacular scenery.

112

Highway 12 – which started off 24, had very different scenery – including some drops from the road edge where, as my late uncle would say, “you’d starve to death before hitting the bottom”. I can remember going over a pass that was over 9,000 feet (~3,000 meters) .

I thought the following name – Kodachrome Basin – was a bit funny. Why didn’t they name it Ektachrome, which favored the blues and greens? In any event it was obviously named before digital cameras 😉

I suppose even having this knowledge dates me a bit – but I have enjoyed photography since I was 12.

114

116.jpg133

124

I believe what you are looking at below is a wadi – a dried riverbed that in the event of rain, can suddenly have a tsunami-like torrent of water coming through. People have over the years drowned in these – the water will come that fast.

120134

This was a small home from another time….Imagine living in that year round. This was in the town of Escalante.

136

…..To be continued. 

5 Comments

Filed under Travel, Uncategorized

5 responses to “My Ideal Road Trip Part 5

  1. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip Part 6 | The Lexicans

  2. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip – Part 7 | The Lexicans

  3. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip – Part 8 | The Lexicans

  4. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip – Part 9 | The Lexicans

  5. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip – Part 10 | The Lexicans

Leave a Reply

