My Ideal Road Trip – Part 3

 

Part 1 is here

Part 2 is here

Because a Lexican suggested when getting to Southern Utah that  I should drive 2 highways – 24 and 12 – I decided to drive east on I70 100-150 miles  through Utah to Green River. To get there after Ely I headed southeast on Highway 21 – up I 15 for a small stretch, then on to I70.

I have probably driven over the years a few 100 thousand miles on our Interstate system. I believe that President Eisenhower got the idea for them after seeing Germany’s Autobahns. While they have made travel easy, they are, as a rule, not known for scenic beauty. Most of them are rather sterile as far as beautiful scenery. For scenery one usually has to travel the smaller highways and roads.

When I reached the beginning of I70 it was dusk, but the scenery was the most spectacular I had ever seen on a US Interstate.

057

058

059

060

In an effort to just get to Highway 24, I had unwittingly “discovered” the San Rafael Reef.

7 Comments

Filed under Travel

7 responses to “My Ideal Road Trip – Part 3

  1. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip Part 4 | The Lexicans

  2. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip Part 5 | The Lexicans

  3. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip Part 6 | The Lexicans

  4. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip – Part 7 | The Lexicans

  5. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip – Part 8 | The Lexicans

  6. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip – Part 9 | The Lexicans

  7. Pingback: My Ideal Road Trip – Part 10 | The Lexicans

Leave a Reply

