Absent Friends…

To Lex

While it’s not exactly the design we settled on some months ago, that didn’t make the cut. Seems it was desired that all the bricks have a certain format, which makes perfect sense.

My daughter, The WSO, returned last week from Key West, survived the Hornet Ball Saturday night and finally had a chance to get out to the memorial today.

All in all, I think we honored our dear friend very nicely. I wish I could have been there for the dedication.

Next time I get out to Lemoore, I hope there is some grass growing near the memorial. I plan to bring a nickel or three…

20141020_160845
To remember all of those fine men and women who went in harm’s way…

And didn’t make it home.

6 Comments

Filed under In Memoriam, Lex

6 responses to “Absent Friends…

  1. missbirdlegs

    Please thank ‘The WSO’ for all she did for us and for Lex on this project, and for the picture. It’s so appreciated! I need a tissue…

  2. Edward

    Thank you for the memorial and posting the pictures.
    Lex touched so many … I find myself thinking of him often.
    So many fine men and women have given life and limb and sacrificed comfortable life with their families for our safety and future…
    We all vanish from memory (except the truly evil ones), but their striving for
    the good and true carries forward into the future to the benefit of all humankind.

  3. Damn,
    I miss than man…

  4. Should have read ” That man”.
    Out…

  5. NaCly Dog

    Thank you so much. + 6.022 x 10²³ for you efforts. Lex and his writing is still close to my heart. His take on todays issues would be epic.

Leave a Reply

