Cutaway Thursday: Douglas X-3 Stiletto

x-3

More on the X-3 Stiletto here.

2 Comments

Filed under Aeronautical Engineering, Air Force, Airplanes, Flying, USAF

2 responses to “Cutaway Thursday: Douglas X-3 Stiletto

  1. Note the wings, precursor to the F-104. This little guy wasn’t very successful, had issues with controllability and the engines were not what was originally planned for. Thrust was about 30% short of the plan in afterburner. What stood out in the report I read about the jet was takeoff speed: 260 knots. Shazam. No thank you.

  2. I precisely wished to appreciate you yet again. I’m not certain what I would’ve sorted out in the absence of the entire thoughts provided by you relating to that subject matter. It had been a very fearsome issue in my opinion, nevertheless seeing the expert tactic you handled it made me to jump for delight. I’m just happy for your information and as well , pray you are aware of an amazing job that you’re doing teaching men and women through the use of your webblog. I know that you’ve never encountered any of us.

Leave a Reply

